High Bar Harbor began as an undeveloped sedge island, just west of Barnegat Light.
In 1943, the Army Corps of Engineers built a functioning sand dike along High Bar Sedge with dredge material from the inlet in an attempt to eliminate the new southerly-based tide created after the construction of the north and south jetties. The dike inadvertently created thousands of acres of sand all around the former High Bar Sedge.
For a time the borough of Barnegat Light tried to claim High Bar Harbor as its own. The conflict was settled in favor of Long Beach Township and the courts declared 20th Street in Barnegat Light to be a county road. In 1953, developer Arnold Desiderio of Whippany, New Jersey bought the entire area, excluding the Dike, and built High Bar Harbor.
We welcome additional information and look forward to building our community’s history together. Please, do not hesitate to share interesting documents or images here: email@example.com.
Please see a collection of unique images below.